DK makes Thorpe Watch List

CUTrevor 2020-07-20 14:09:37

Oklahoma City – The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame (OSHOF) and Jim Thorpe Association release today the prestigious Paycom Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list. This list includes 49 of the nation's best defensive backs, representing 10 conferences. The preseason watch list is selected by a screening committee whose members compile a list of up to 50 players. This list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons may be added as the season progresses.

Paulson Adebo, Stanford, Sr.
Reed Blankenship, Middle Tennessee State, Sr.
Eric Burrell, Wisconsin, Sr.
Camryn Bynum, California, Sr.
T.J. Carter, Memphis, Sr.
Andre Cisco, Syracuse, So.
Kenderick Duncan, Jr., Georgia Southern, Jr.
Greg Eisworth, Iowa State, Sr.
Kaiir Elam, Florida, So.
Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech, Jr.
Paris Ford, Pitt, Jr.
Kaleb Ford-Dement, Old Dominion, Jr.
Darrick Forrest, Cincinnati, Sr.
Ahmad Gardner, Cincinnati, So.
Thomas Graham, Jr., Oregon, Sr.
Richie Grant, UCF, Sr.
Darren Hall, San Diego State, Jr.
Brontae Harris, UAB, Sr.
Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Tyrone Hill, Buffalo, Sr.
Jevon Holland, Oregon, Jr.
Talanoa Hufanga,USC, Jr.
Shaun Jolly, Appalachian State, Jr.
Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State, Sr.
Derion Kendrick, Clemson, Jr.
Richard LeCounte, Georgia, Sr.
Trevon Moehrig, TCU, Jr.
Elijah Molden, Washington, Sr.
Israel Mukuamu, South Carolina, Jr.
Hamsah Nasirildeen, Florida State, Sr.
Dell Pettus, Troy, So.
Antonio Phillips, Ball State, Sr.
Aaron Robinson, UCF, Sr.
Emmanuel Rugamba, Miami (OH), Sr.
Caden Sterns, Texas, So.
JaCoby Stevens, LSU, Sr.
Derek Stingley, Jr., LSU, So.
Eric Stokes, Georgia, Jr.
Corey Straughter, ULM, Sr.
Patrick Surtain II, Alabama, Jr.
Ambry Thomas, Michigan, Sr.
Tariq Thompson, San Diego State, Sr.
Amechi Uzodinma, Ball State, Jr.
Shaun Wade, Ohio State, Jr.
Lamont Wade, Penn State, Sr.
Jalen Walker, Boise State, Sr.
Jermaine Waller, Virginia Tech, Jr.
Sterling Weatherford, Miami (OH), Jr.
James Wiggins, Cincinnati, Sr.

By Conference

AAC (6), ACC (6), BIG 10 (4), BIG 12 (4), C-USA (3), MAC (5), MW (4), PAC-12 (6), SEC (7), SUN BELT (4)

A preseason watch list is compiled by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame based on previous performance and preseason All-America lists. A screening committee, consisting of OSHOF members, monitor the watch list players and narrow the field to 10 to 15 semifinalists on the first Monday of November. This committee reconvenes on the Monday before Thanksgiving to select three award finalists. The three finalists are submitted to a national panel of over 250 sports writers, sportscasters, former players and coaches who vote to determine the winner of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award.

All three finalists are invited and required to attend The Home Depot College Football Awards Show Presented by Gildan, broadcast live on ESPN from Atlanta, Georgia, where the winner is announced. Other recognized National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards announced include the Bednarik Award, Maxwell Award, Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy, Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award, Bronko Nagurski Award, Outland Trophy, Butkus Award, Lombardi Award, Biletnikoff Award, Davey O’Brien Award, Doak Walker Award and Walter Camp Award.

The official presentation of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award takes place in Oklahoma City, following ESPN's live presentation at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The current winner and all former winners are invited each year to celebrate. Over 600 supporters attend the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Banquet each year, including many celebrities and dignitaries.