Trev & Trav make Maxwell Watch List

CUTrevor 2020-07-24 18:29:01

[VIA MAXWELL FOOTBALL CLUB] The Maxwell Football Club today announced its watch list for the 84th Maxwell Award presented annually to the most outstanding player in college football.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sports writer and football official.

The Maxwell Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, and will feature fresh faces, as 2019 winner Joe Burrow (LSU) and finalists Chase Young (Ohio State) and Jalen Hurts (Oklahoma) have all moved on to the NFL.

The list features 6 returning semifinalists from 2019, including Shane Buechele (SMU), Charlie Brewer (Baylor), Travis Etienne (Clemson), Justin Fields (Ohio State), Chuba Hubbard (Oklahoma State) and Sam Ehlinger (Texas). Alabama, Indiana, Louisville and Memphis lead the way with 3 candidates each, and 17 other schools boast 2 candidates.

Burrow became the first Tiger to ever win the award before being chosen with the 1st overall pick in the NFL Draft by the Cincinnati Bengals.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA unveiled their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month. Fourteen of the association’s awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2020 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 13: Bednarik Award

Tues., July 14: Davey O’Brien Award

Wed., July 15: Doak Walker Award

Thurs., July 16: Biletnikoff Award

Fri., July 17: Mackey Award

Mon., July 20: Butkus Award & Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Tues., July 21: Bronko Nagurski Trophy & Outland Trophy

Wed., July 22: Lou Groza Award & Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 23: Paul Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy

Fri., July 24: Maxwell Award