CUTrevor 2021-01-05 13:56:27

The Heisman Trophy will be awarded tonight on ESPN, and coverage begins at 7:00. If Trevor wins, I'll have a post-award Zoom interview for you right here. I will also have the vote tabulation for you and photos. I give Trev about a 50/50 chance of winning tonight, although everyone seems to be saying that Alabama WR Devonta Smith is the favorite. This is about as close as it's been for several years, with multiple finalists having a legitimate chance. I think even Trask has a decent chance because the votes were in before he threw 3 INT's in the first quarter and was benched against Oklahoma.

If one of the Alabama players wins, all 3 of their Heisman winners in program history will have robbed Clemson players! Spiller should have won in 2009, and it went to Mark Ingram. Watson should have won in 2015, and it went to Derrick Henry. They are Bama's only two Heisman winners. But at least they gave Clemson Frank Howard, Danny Ford, Hootie Ingram and Dabo Swinney!

CUTrevor 2021-01-05 19:08:35

As expected, thanks to ESPN making the Heisman very predictable every year, Alabama's Devonta Smith is the Heisman winner. Trevor came in second in the voting. It's the second Heisman runner-up the Tigers have had (Watson in 2016). Again, Trevor is the best player in college football, and that is who the Heisman is supposed to go to, but it rarely goes to the right person anymore. Like Dabo said, if he wanted to win a Heisman, he could play his stars in every 4th quarter and blow everyone else's stats away. Smith had a great season, but his stats were about the same as Chase from LSU last year, and he won't be the No.1 draft pick because everyone knows Trevor is the best player in college football.

We'll see if the Heisman curse catches up with Smith in the National Championship! I'll have the voting numbers posted for you in a bit.

CUTrevor 2021-01-05 21:27:48

DeVonta Smith of Alabama was selected as the 86th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy as
the Outstanding College Football Player in the United States for 2020.

Anne Donahue, of the Heisman Trophy Trust, which annually presents the Heisman Memorial
Trophy Award, announced the selection of Smith on Tuesday evening, January 5, 2021, on a
nationally televised ESPN sports special live broadcast from the ESPN Studio in Bristol,

The victory for the 6’1”, 175-pound Smith represents the third winner from Alabama, joining
Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015). He is the 4th wide receiver to win the Heisman
and the first since Desmond Howard in 1991.

Smith, of Amite, LA caught 105 passes for 1,641 yards and 20 touchdowns including a
tremendous performance in the College Football Playoff Semi-Final catching 7 passes for 130
yards and 3 touchdowns. His career receiving yards of 3,260 is highest in Alabama history.
Smith also holds the SEC career record for receiving touchdowns with 40, passing the previous
mark of 31 held by Amari Cooper and Chris Doering. He also owns a four- and five-touchdown
game making him the only receiver in SEC history with multiple career games totaling four or
more receiving touchdowns. Smith was awarded the Associated Press college football player of
the year.

Ballots were emailed to 870 media personnel across the nation plus 56 Heisman winners and one
fan ballot, for a total of 927 electors. The ballots were received and tabulated by the independent
accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. Smith polled 1,856 points to capture the award over
Trevor Lawrence of Clemson (1,187 points), Mac Jones (1,130 points) also of Alabama and Kyle
Trask (737 points) of Florida. The point total is reached by a system of three points for a first
place vote, two for second and one for third.